モア ガーデン Moa Garden

Technically this shop is not a cafe, because they don’t serve coffee and there is no where to sit and eat.  It’s basically a bakery, but a really nice one at that; hence, it’s write-up here.

Moa Garden is one of those increasingly rare shops where everything is made on site, and as a result the shop smells FANTASTIC!  If they could bottle that smell, I would be a happy customer.  There is a little window at the front of the shop where you can watch the pastry chef make cakes.

Moa Garden is apparently well-known for their chou a la cremes.  We (the group of PTA moms I was with) visited the shop at 10:00 am, when they open.  At that time, there were already several customers in line for the chou a la cremes.  Of the three types Moa Garden makes, they were almost sold out of two of the types.  Here are some photos of the chou a la cremes in the oven, and the three types for sale:

Moa Garden oven

Moa Garden shou a la creme

The staff had written out explanations on the different types of chou a la cremes, but I couldn’t buy just one or two: I bought a few of each type, for the sake of comparison.  And at 110 Yen each, they are very reasonably priced.  The staff filled them with custard cream *after* we ordered so that the pastry would stay crisp.

The chou a la cremes were all good; I don’t think I would recommend one type over any other.  The pastry was light and crisp, the custard was fluffy and vanilla-scented (with real vanilla!).  Good stuff, all the way around.

I didn’t buy anything out of the cake window, but I will next time I’m in the area.  Look at these darling cakes!:

moa garden cake window

Everything was beautifully presented and topped with seasonal fruit.  I don’t know any child or adult who could pass up one of those adorable Totoro cakes.

The shop is nothing special to look at from the outside, and you might not even notice it if you’re just driving by.

Moa Garden storefront

However, if you need a nice cake or a selection of individual pieces, I definately recommend this shop.  Located just across from JR Nakasho station, it’s easy to find.  Parking available.

+ What I liked about this shop:  Friendly service, gorgeous handcrafted cake, reasonable prices.

– What I didn’t like about this shop:  Nothing, really, but the exterior could use a slight makeover.

Address: 岡山-倉敷市鳥羽26-11 Okayama-ken, Kurashi-shi, Toba 26-11

Tel & Fax:  086-463-6007

Date visited: July 4, 2013.

Published by amiyata

I'm a American who is a long term resident of Japan. I love cafes, hiking / trekking, taking photos, cooking and baking, and gardening.

Leave a comment